3 Local Officers Graduate from Dept. Of Criminal Justice Training

Posted by: OC Monitor Staff Posted date: October 12, 2015 In: News

RICHMOND, Ky. (10/12/15) – Law enforcement officers from 16 agencies across the state graduated Friday, Oct. 9, from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The 23 officers of Class 467 completed 22 weeks of training, which consisted of 888 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 467 graduates and their agencies are:

Jeremy A. Renfrow, Ballard County Sheriff ‘s Office

Donnie E. Broughton, Barbourville Police Department

Nikolai V. Boyar, Bowling Green Police Department

Thomas J. Bugsch, Bowling Green Police Department

Dylan T. Callison, Bowling Green Police Department

Brock R. Messina, Bowling Green Police Department

Jennifer R. Owen, Bowling Green Police Department

Cameron B. Day, Cincinnati/N. KY Airport Police Department

Jacob C. Wright, Cincinnati/N. KY Airport Police Department

Troy Joseph Blue, Dawson Springs Police Department

John W. Overbey, Elsmere Police Department

David C. Aldridge, Gallatin County Sheriff’s Office

Oscar Sanchez, Gallatin County Sheriff’s Office

Corey E. Brown, Hancock County Sheriff ‘s Office

Mitchell P. Brown, Hartford Police Department

Benjamin J. Lancaster Jr., Marion County Sheriff’s Office

Jake S. Darnell, Murray State University Police Department

Dalton Rankin Mellott, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

Katie E. Pate, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

Jonathon W. Knox, Scottsville Police Department

Mikka D. Crabtree, Trigg County Sheriff ‘s Office

Emily H. Faulkner, University of Kentucky Police Department

Dustin M. Lee, Western Kentucky University Police Department

Information provided by the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training