House Bill 40 qualifies Kentucky residents to conceal and carry deadly weapons as of October 1, 1996.
The Kentucky State Police (KSP) are responsible for issuing Concealed Carry Permits to carry a Concealed Deadly Weapon. The responsibility of the Ohio County Sheriff’s Office (OCSO) is to forward a completed application packet to KSP for approval. A completed application packet includes:
- A completed application form
- Completion certificate of the required training from a certified instructor
A photo (the photo can be obtained at Wal-Mart for a nominal fee. The photo should be a 4 x 6 head shot. No glasses and no hats are to be worn in the picture.)
Payment of fees: $40 check or money order to the Kentucky State Treasurer; $20 cash, check or money order to the Ohio County Sheriff’s Office.
Once the application packet is approved from KSP, a notification will be sent via mail to the applicant. This process can take up to 8 weeks. Once notification is received, the applicant may pick up the permit in the OSCO during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M –F).
As of July 12, 2006, in accordance with House Bill 290, anyone applying for a CCDW license or renewal must be a citizen of the United States. Applicants who are not US citizens will need to complete an immigration Status Affidavit declaring CCDW eligibility. For more on House Bill 290, click the following link: http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/06RS/HB290/bill.doc
What Credentials Do I Need To Bring?
Please bring with you:
· State of Kentucky Driver’s License or Official Photo ID and Proof of Kentucky Residency
· Training Certificate Original plus copy
· Photo for the Application (the photo can be obtained at Wal-Mart for a nominal fee. The photo should be a 4 x 6 head shot. No glasses and no hats are to be worn in the picture.)
The state of KY will not accept a training course certificates from the Department of Fish and Wildlife (Firearms Safety and Hunter Education Course) or federal agencies because neither provide required training in Kentucky firearm laws (Use of Force, Access, etc.). The only exception is DD Form 214 Certificate, which is now accepted as long as it says Honorable Discharge and shows you are pistol certified. If you are pistol certified and your DD-214 does not list it, you can completed an affidavit at the OCSO swearing to your certification. Certifications acquired through online courses will NOT be accepted, as they are most likely a scam.
For more information and to obtain a listing of Certified Instructors in your County, visit DOCJT's
"Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapons License Training" web page.
For more information, visit the Kentucky State Police web site:
Change of Personal Information
To change personal information such as an address on your permit, please print and complete THIS FORM and mail or bring it to the OCSO for submittal to KSP. There is no charge to submit a change of personal information.
KSP will use the same picture from the current permit and produce a new card with the changed information.
KSP will send a notice to the applicant when the card is ready at the OCSO. Please bring your old card.